iPhone 3g Appstore apps constantly crashing

http://www.appleiphoneschool.com/2008/08/10/appstore-apps-crashing-restore/

And now for something completely different…

It’s been a while since my last post and I thought i’d get away from C# and Java goodness for a while, and talk about something new.  The iPhone.  I just signed up for one a few days ago and have been playing around with it all weekend.

As many people will, i’m sure, I immediately hit the app center and grabbed a bunch of free apps, toys and even bought an app (Bookshelf, an excellent, though slightly buggy in a few points, eReader program).
Well, about twenty minutes ago I discovered that one of my apps, Easy Task Manager, would no longer open, instead it crashed straight back to the home screen.  It didn’t take long to discover that suddenly -all- of my app-store apps were now doing exactly this.  I searched for some sanity and found the link above.
There are an awful lot of possible solutions presented in the above link, from full restoring to jailbreaking and resetting components, to sending your iPhone back to apple.  One that you might miss whilst looking through the comments however is the one that fixed the problem for me.  Simply go into iTunes, choose “Authorize Computer” from the Store menu, and enter your iTunes password.  That will go through some sort of authorisation process, and after that run the sync command.  (Do all this with the iPhone attached).

Don’t ask me why that worked, it really does stretch the imagination – but then, so do a lot of things about Apple and the iPhone.  Don’t get me wrong, it’s a nice little toy, but there are a lot of irritating little things about it.  Expect to hear more in the coming days, it’s a nice new little subject to rant on before I try to get back into our previously regular scheduled programming 🙂

Thanks for tuning in once more, come again and good coding.

5 thoughts on “iPhone 3g Appstore apps constantly crashing

  1. I bought it 10 hours ago and it crashed like hell. I tried updating the firmware and the restored it back again and was gonna go to apple store and return it to apple.

    Then i saw your post. That worked like a charm for me. Thank you sooooooooooo much!

  2. I’m glad I could help, it’s a fantastic device in a lot of ways yet horribly flawed and frustrating in as many more 🙂

    Luckily this is the worst malfunction I’ve seen so far and it’s not permanent (in our case anyway).

  3. fernado: I have read lots of potential fixes for this issue – which ones are effective I imagine must depend on what the root cause is in each particular case (it certainly sounds as though this is a common symptom to several problems). This was one of the most simple, and it worked in my case.

    Follow the link I posted in the article here and track through the comments, there are many other solutions listed there you could try. One common reported fix is to restore your iPhone using iTunes, which would mean you would need to reinstall a lot of things, but it may fix the issues you are having.

Leave a Reply

