An argument for the Earth being the center of the universe.

http://blogs4brownback.wordpress.com/2007/05/18/heliocentrism-is-an-atheist-doctrine/

 It’s…. interesting.. I suppose.  Scary in some ways in that I can’t work out if it is meant to be satire, or if he’s deadly serious.  Perhaps worse are the comments on this post – even if he is serious, attacking him personally will just validate him.  I see this all the time against Christian fundamentalists, the supposedly smart people calling them stupid (or worse).

Don’t you realise that suffering and martyrdom are central precepts of the Christian faith? Nothing feels better or more vindicating to a true fundamentalist than being hated.  In the days leading up to his death, Jesus was hated.  When you attack these people, you make them feel like Jesus.  This inspires them to continue.

Everyone has a right to their opinion, and the right to publish it.  My only problem with fundamentalists is their idea that everyone else shouldn’t have a right to their opinion, and should be forced to follow theirs.  Their kind walked America with a bible and a gun, and if the natives refused the first they got the second.

My ancestors were no better i’m sure, those that weren’t locked up at the time, when they settled Australia.  I thought we’d gotten past that though.

 As for the Earth being the center of the universe – doesn’t really bother me either way.  I know of plenty of scientific research that has supported otherwise, but if it were all proved tomorrow to be wrong, it wouldn’t shatter my world view much.

I still wont believe in your God.  I don’t like him very much.

2 thoughts on “An argument for the Earth being the center of the universe.

  1. “I still wont believe in your God. I don’t like him very much.”

    I don’t like the idea of humans evolving from stupid primates. Doesn’t meant it isn’t true.

Leave a Reply

