The most famous amazon review of all time

I always find it amazing how memes, particularly geek humour, can sweep the internet so quickly.  This is one I missed however, and if you’ve not seen it, I recommend you go check it out!.

Ping the magic duck

A review of a childs book, explaining how it is actually a metaphor for the ping protocol 😉

My personal favorite is the ending though:
   
But even with these problems, The Story About
Ping has earned a place on my bookshelf, right between Stevens’
Advanced Programming in the Unix Environment, and my dog-eared copy of
Dante’s seminal work on MS Windows, Inferno. Who can read that passage
on the Windows API (“Obscure, profound it was, and nebulous, So that by
fixing on its depths my sight — Nothing whatever I discerned
therein.”), without shaking their head with deep understanding. But I
digress.

Brilliant 😉

Original link from Coding Horror a tech blog I found today that seems quite informative – and obviously, a bit of fun too ;).

4 thoughts on “The most famous amazon review of all time

  1. I’ve already read this book. I like it. But I can’t find the Ping Program through the content of story. Maybe my English reading skill is not good enough to understand. Maybe I didn’t deeply understand the ping program or ICMP. I will think more about this story.

Leave a Reply

