Top Five Comfort Games

Slashdot | What Are Your Top Five ‘Comfort’ Games?

Interesting little post.  There seem to be less people playing older games as “comfort” fallbacks than I would have thought. I love Civ IV as well, but for comfort fallback, my favorites are:

1. Rockstar – an old dos game by wizard entertainment.  Take some drugs, play some songs, release some albums and amass stadium’s of fans around the world πŸ˜‰

2. Decker – The first almost-roguelike on my list, a shadowrun-based cyberspace simulator.  A bit of fun, i’ve spent many hours playing it and it still comes out from time to time.

3. Liberal Crime Squad – another almost-roguelike. Involves violence, prostitution and politics, all in an ascii game.  To give some idea, the authors of this game apologise that they weren’t able to offend -everybody-. πŸ™‚  I’ve actually beaten this game once, but its still fun to go back.  Let me say again however, I’ve beaten it once, been wiped out hundreds of times.

4. IVAN – A full-fledged roguelike.  The name is an acronym that means “A Violent Road to Death”.  Occasionally I feel suicidal and get this game out.

5. Hollywood Mogul – An independant commercial game where you must run a hollywood studio, make movies, win the equivalent of oscars and the like.  Very much a “Just another turn” game that can keep you up all night.

Edit:
My Trackback machine has found someone else picking up the meme.  See Kim’s Comfort Games at:

http://occrev.blogspot.com/2006/10/comfort-games.html

Conflict: Middle East Political Simulator was always fun – and oh so relevant again today. 

6 thoughts on “Top Five Comfort Games

  1. Good idea πŸ˜‰

    I originally got Rockstar from home of the underdogs: http://www.the-underdogs.info/ Though I don’t know if its still there. He follows abandonware rules very strictly.

    Hollywood Mogul has a site: http://www.hollywood-mogul.com/ and I think he’s about to release a new version soon. I can’t wait.

    The other three are open source, so you can download them without worry.

    Decker: http://www.caro.net/dsi/decker/
    Liberal Crime Squad: http://www.bay12games.com/lcs/
    Iter Vehemens ad Necem (IVAN!): http://ivan.sourceforge.net/

    Let me know what you think πŸ™‚

  2. Thanks for the links!

    The HotU site’s owner is actually a “she.” πŸ˜‰ Try checking out the photos (not sure if it’s still there) in the HotU forums and you’ll see who “Underdogs” is.

  3. My bad πŸ˜‰ You’d think i’d know that after all the years i’ve been visiting the site. Just a pity she hasn’t got much chance to update in recent times – its always been my favorite gaming site.

    As my top 5 comfort games show, i’ve always been one for gameplay over graphics (not that I dont enjoy a good graphical show).

    What are your top 5 then, Arnel?

  4. Well, I’d say:

    1. Photopia by Adam Cadre
    2. A Mind Forever Voyaging by Steve Meretzky
    3. Cirque de Zale
    4. Those Leisure Suit Larry games in DOS
    5. Rockstar πŸ˜‰

    Kim had to write his first on the blog.

  5. Hey, another Rockstar fan πŸ˜‰ I thought I was the only one. I’ve been tossing up the idea of doing some sort of remake of it for modern computers. Maybe a .Net version that will run on both windows and mobile v5, so I can play it on my ppc.

Leave a Reply

