IE Bugs

I hate internet explorer.  No really, I do.  I yearn for the day when I can develop for a main browser that can actually properly display CSS without bugs and idiosyncracies.  That day may never come, but hopefully vista and ie7 will be a step in the right direction.  The company I work for aren’t about to migrate to firefox, so i’m stuck with ie6 for my webapps for now.

I just recently started trying to get my application to display css tooltips.  That is, little roll-over popup messages that don’t require javascript, just pure css, and work in IE 6 so I can use them to explain a small confusing part of my application.

I found a great site on it, it’s here.

Of course, if that was the end of it, I wouldn’t be here whinging now would I šŸ˜‰  No, no matter what I did I couldn’t get that example to work.  It requires one more addition to the a.info:hover css that isn’t listed in his tutorial.  It took me two hours to track down the solution to this particular IE bug.  (Did I mention I hate IE?)

The problem was likely due to my changing things to fit the app I was developing. I didn’t want a background colour change on hover forinstance, just a text color change.  So here is what I had, and what I had to add to fix it.

a.info:hover
{
    z-index: 25;
    color: red;
    background:;   
}

See the strange “background:;” statement that does absolutely nothing? Thats the lifesaver under IE.  It would appear that on hover, ie decides the only thing that needs to be redrawn is that anchor text itself.  Now, as the tooltip is displayed as a block somewhere entirely different, it never gets shown at all.  The background element, even though it is not used and makes no difference, seems to trigger IE to redraw the entire page rather than just the anchor.  Thus then, the popups work.

When programs trying to be smart get real stupid.

Did I tell you that I hate IE?

Sorry for the lack of posts lately, I was quite ill and didn’t even go near a computer for a week.  (Anyone who knows me knows that means I was near death šŸ™‚ )

Leave a Reply

