Adam Cogan on Visual Studio Team System (VSTS) and Team Foundation Server (TFS)

Things have been a little tech-dry around here lately.  Thats because i’ve been so -booooored-. Don’t get me wrong, its not like there isn’t plenty of work to do, its just not really interesting enough to write about.  I’ve developed a system that draws documents out of a Trim document repository and ftp’s it to various places depending on what sort of document they are. Then, web frontends at those various places can make those documents and their metadata (stored in a sql database) available to external users.  Also, its all audited and every operation recorded in databases.

Complex, sure. Interesting? A bit.  To you guys? Not unless you use Trim Context and plan to access it programmatically. From the lack of useable information on google about programming for Trim, its not that interesting to a whole lot of people, arn’t a lot of requests for info out there.

Of course, there may be 3 or 4 people in the world suffering similar problems.  If so, dont hesitate to email or leave a comment and i’ll help you out however I can.  There are a few sneaky undocumented tricks I had to get from the developers – maybe i’ll post them later.

In anycase, finally something interesting has come along to spark my interest in the whole .Net 2.0 migration problem. I will admit that waiting for my various bosses to get around to approving the migration etc etc ad infinitum is getting a bit tedious so i’ve pretty much parked it by the side of the road and forgotten about it.

In anycase Adam Cogan, a great guy who is a “Microsoft Regional Director” and a big man in SSW – one of Sydney’s leading .Net providers, came down to the Hobart .Net Users group to give a talk about the team foundation studio portions of the new Visual Studio – in particular the work item and bug tracking portions of it.  Now I wont sum up his entire talk, but he was a facinating speaker who was able to talk at length about many topics and some of which were actually related to the talk he was giving. 😉

What excites me the most about Team Foundation Studio is the sheer amount of customisation that is possible. All the dll’s are available to developers to use so you can access the functions that edit and save work items and so integrate custom programs into your bug tracking/work item system.  Also even the entire gui is available through dll’s – so its possible with two code calls to provide the entire work-item entry page to the user from a custom office component or custom development application.

This will come in particularly handy I feel when the powers that be decide its time to implement their nice shiny ITIL compliant helpdesk system – which they will no doubt do just as i’ve gotten our work item process set up nicely.  Hopefully, if the helpdesk software is also extensible (not a given) i’ll be able to integrate the two and make them play nice.  That would be lovely.

What is more likely is one day i’ll snap and you’ll find me throwing ITIL sticker-covered stones at cars while wearing a dirty loincloth and dreadlocked chest hair, screaming at the top of my scarred and battered lungs.

Adam Cogan was fun and I enjoyed my first sojourn into the Hobart .Net Users group.  There were an awful lot of suits there for a programmers group – I could see my managers itching. They’d worn casual to fit in and discovered that scruffy programmers are apparently in the minority in Tassie these days – at least in the .Net space.

Personally I don’t know how you can program with a rope around your neck. Reminds me too much of my convict ancestors.  And knives. And dirty loin cloths.

But enough of that.  Go and visit Adam Cogan’s website!  It may look a bit corporate, but in the ‘Rules’ section is a few really good articles. Whilst I normally disapprove of people spouting “Rules” like they are the One True Rulemaker and about as fantatical as believers in the One True Faith or perhaps the One True Ring, these articles are quite good regardless.

Go and read them. I command it. Or maybe, just maybe when I finally crack you’ll find me outside your bedroom window. Singing Joe Strummer songs. Off-key. In a loin cloth. You’ve been warned.

4 thoughts on “Adam Cogan on Visual Studio Team System (VSTS) and Team Foundation Server (TFS)

  1. I’m a bit worried about your obsession with loin-cloths. If you turn up to the office in one I’m going on permanent sick leave and moving to a desert island!

  2. I didn’t realise our wedding was a George-in-the-jungle theme… *click click click…Cogs in brain turning…*
    DING!

    You know what that means? I don’t have wear a dress! Way to go loin-clothes!

Leave a Reply

